Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Welcome to the EQC

The Kentucky Environmental Quality Commission (EQC) is a seven-member citizen advisory board that works diligently to strengthen the public's role in solving environmental problems in our communities and the state.

The commission was created under state law with a mission to:

  • facilitate public discussion and resolution of environmental issues;
  • promote partnerships to protect the environment for future generations; and
  • serve as an advisory board to the governor and other state officials on environmental matters.

The strength of EQC is in its commissioners who work together for the benefit of the state and the environment.

The EQC is guided by its executive director, Arnita Gadson.

All meetings begin at 6 p.m. at Kentucky State University, Academic Services Building, Room 509, in Frankfort. Citizens with an environmental concern are invited to testify.

Meetings are conducted through video conferencing sites located across the state. Sites are announced prior to each meeting. ​​



Steve ColemanFrankfortChairman, retired director, Division of Conservation
Ron BruntyWhitesburgSoutheast Kentucky Community & Technical College
Tom HermanLouisvilleCorporate Environmental Manager, Zeon Chemicals L.P.
Jeffery EgerErlangerHDR Engineering
Benjamin PetersonPaducahCity of Paducah
Martha TarrantLexingtonRoss Tarrant Architects, Inc.